Paro FC win BoB Bhutan Premier League 2022

The defending champions, Paro FC, retained their title as the Champions of the BoB Bhutan Premier League, 2022. The final match was held at the Changlimithang stadium yesterday. The Tigers came out victorious after a 2-1 win over Thimphu City FC. It is their third Bhutan Premier League title since the league’s initiation in 2012.

A huge crowd gathered to witness the game between the league giants.

Both the title contenders have been unbeaten this season. With just four draws for Thimphu City FC and three draws for Paro FC, the two giants dominated the league early on in the season.

In the 37th minute of the first half, Chencho Gyeltshen scored the opening goal for Paro FC. After nine minutes into the second half, Kazuo Homma doubled their lead.

With the title, the winners were awarded a cash prize of Nu 2.4 M. The first runners-up were handed Nu 1 M. Similarly, the second runners-up, Druk Lhayul FC, were given Nu 650,000.

Kazou Homma, who joined Paro FC in July last year, bagged the most valuable player and a top scorer award with 34 goals for the season.

So far, Paro FC has the most number of titles, closely followed by Thimphu City FC with two titles.

As per the Bhutan Football Federation, Paro FC will be participating in the Asian Football Confederation Cup, an annual continental club football competition, this year.

The next BoB Bhutan Premier League season is expected to start in July this year.

Chenga Dawa

The post Paro FC win BoB Bhutan Premier League 2022 appeared first on BBSCL.

Related Posts